Sideways Grande Cloche

19 Mar

Ahh. The sideways grande cloche. It is, by far, my favorite knit from Boutique Knits, which is why I didn’t buy the book. I was thrilled, then, when the pattern was published in 2009’s Interweave Knits Holiday Gifts. Yay! When I first saw the pattern, I knew exactly who I would knit it for.

My friend Leslie was the perfect recipient. I knew she’d be styling in it and she appreciates hand knits as she knits herself.

The construction is pretty neat. A long ribbed rectangle makes the body of the hat. You then pick up and decrease for the pretty crown, then knit two straps you braid together for the cable. Awesome and easy. I used the worsted-weight wool-ease. Soft, stable, WARM (even though she finally got it after Snowpocalypse and winter entirely), whilst being completely washable. How great is that? I’m very happy with this knit. I also had a lot of yarn left over. Definitely uses less than one skein.

Even with the lighter weight yarn, I used the needles called for and the same number of stitches. Pretty slick. I contemplated a provisional cast-on and grafting the ends together, but decided I needed seaming practice anyway and it came out great. Make one!!

Leave a Reply

