The Jog in Wanida – 2aaT

26 Mar

I had to do a google search looking for a way to smoothly accomplish the jogs in Cookie A.’s Wanida pattern from Sock Innovations, whilst knitting two-at-a-time (or 2aaT, something I learned in my googl-ing).

I admit that my search did not, at first, include the fact that I was knitting them both at the same time on one circular. I simply didn’t understand the instructions that, in the below photo, the grayed stitches were to be used only at the end of the round, not the end of the repeat. So I thought: but there are no more stitches. Perhaps I start the next row with those 8 stitches and the new beginning. Okay. But then I have 8 stitches left when there are 16 more needed. Had I been knitting these on DPNs or even using Magic Loop with one sock, I would have been able to see how that the stitches do shift, and that I do, effectively, knit the same eight stitches twice in the same round. But with 2aaT, it wasn’t so easy to see.

Thank you, Ravelry. I found deb293 who also knit Wanida using 2aaT. I first found her in a forum and noticed the picture and said, “Hey! Is that…?” So I PM’d her and she responded with a great visual to help me out: picture the socks on the needle as one complete circle with the beginning of the round being able to start anywhere. That helped me immensely. Afterwards, yeah, I felt like a bit of a dork. (How amazing is it that, understanding the complexity of explaining knitting in an email, she offered to talk to me on the phone while she was at work! So awesome.)

That night, as I was drifting off to sleep, I realized how I was going to do it. A DPN. I wouldn’t have to transfer ALL the stitches. I just had to move 8. Here’s how I did it.

The pattern (cropped so as not to give away anything – this book is fantastic and you should get it right away!)

Here are the socks, after a complete knit round. But the rounds aren’t over. I still have 8 stitches on each sock left before the round is completed (the 8 in gray).

Using the DPN (hopefully yours is the same size as your main needle), knit the “last” 8 stitches of the round. You’ll save them for the end of the round, completing the 64 stitch round you’ll need. (The jog is repositioning the beginning of round 8 stitches to the left. So you will need 8 more stitches at the end of the round; these 8 stitches on the DPN will be those).

Now you can start the new pattern repeat – the new round.

Make sure you use your main needle. You’ll start behind the DPN. It will feel weird, especially because the first stitch in the new round is a yarn over. When you get to the end of the first half of stitches for sock A, and if you’re like me, you’ll want to move the next 8 stitches to the front by pulling the cable through 8 stitches from where you are. This will put you back at the nice half/half split most 2aaT knitters prefer.

At the end of the round, you’re left with only half a repeat done. Now you need the 8 stitches from the DPN. Knit them off.

Now do the same for sock B.

Hopefully you don’t split that last stitch like I did. 🙂

Continue as you did for the first sock.

For the first jog, I only needed one DPN to work both socks because the jog was at the end of the knit round/beginning of the new round. But for the second jog, I needed two needles to hold the stitches at the end of the round to use for the beginning of the next round, rather than vice versa. (It makes sense when you’re knitting).

Thanks to deb293 and also to pynnski, who clearly explained to me where those mysterious 8 stitches were going. It’s unbelievable, but I’ve known pynnski for 10 years now – ONLINE. We’ve never met. Crazy, huh?! She knows her stitches, folks.

I hope this was helpful! I just thought I’d post it for the next google-er. I know I could’ve used it. I found answers in other ways, though, and it was great. Knitters rock. They’re all so nice and helpful!

Leave a Reply

