Some quick FOs

14 Jun

Oh the FO’s! And my severe lack of blogging. I even went out of my way to make a post a bit back about blogging at least once a week and I can’t even keep up with my weekly blogs! I’m a mess lately, but more than that, I’m trying not to do too much on my iPod (wondering if it’s not contributing to my headaches of late), and getting to the laptop peacefully is tough. When I have time to blog, I have time to knit and knitting always wins.

Here are a few for you:

Wanida! I made these for my mother using Rowan soft 4-ply. The stitch definition is extraordinary and because it’s straight up wool, they are a little baggy around the ankle and will stretch a bit too, but my mother loves them. I posted earlier about the jog issue and how I handled it using 2AAt. Since I don’t blog too often, I won’t link to it. Just scroll down a bit. Ha.

The third and fourth photos are a more accurate color representation.

Then I made the Cotton Baby Hat from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts (I love this book) and paired it with a Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman (ah. Love).  The cotton for the hat is good ol’ Sugar n’ Cream. The first BSJ is from Noro Silk Garden Sock (perfect for this jacket!). That one went to new Elisha, born in May. The second BSJ is for my cousin’s new baby, Maxwell. I haven’t mailed it yet as they just moved, but it’ll be too big for him anyway right now. It’s made from Jo Sharp DK Tweed. Not the Silk Road kind that people are crazy for (never used it before), but I did love the real wool feel of this tweed. I love all these projects.

Here’s some crazy photo love for you!

Isn't it just the cutest thing?

Took me forever to tie the bow just right. This project took less than two hours.

Beautiful colors! I can't wait to make another!

I had just the right amount of yarn. The gold really sets this one apart.

Even folded, it's amazing. EZ is a GENIUS!

I thought stripes were the only way to go with a BSJ. I was wrong.

It looks very classic and understated.

These buttons go with that "classic" look. This one is great.

You may notice in the last photo that my pick up stitches alongside the button band are both going the same way. The first BSJ I made, one side was “inside out” so to speak. This time, I just picked up as if purling the stitches I was picking up. Then they both came out in the same direction. I was very proud of myself for figuring this out.

Last FO. Socks for my father’s birthday. Took forever. I gave them to him after my birthday. Why? Well. Size 12 feet, don’t ya know.

The Cauchey pattern by Cookie A. in Sock Innovation

Easy pattern to memorize but would be better in a solid color yarn.

They look unnatural, right? Look how long that foot is! iPod is for scale.

The socks are made with that Bamboo & Ewe yarn. I picked it up at Joann’s. I want to say it’s a Sensations brand? I’m not positive. But it had a lot of yardage and I needed that. But I still had lots left! I think it will wear really fast. It is indeed soft.

Okay. FO’s done! Tomorrow, 10 on Tuesday and I’ll give you some WiPs on Wednesday! (I hope). Thanks for coming in and checking on me. I hope to be a bit more engaging in the future.

May the force be with you!!!

Leave a Reply

