Toddler Surprise

18 Feb

My son is 29 months old and likes to do as we do. Whenever he gets a wipe or wash cloth, he washes his face, hands, the TV screen, the carpet, furniture or dishes, washing them like mommy and daddy do. But lately he also likes to toss his snacks on the floor and dump his water. In an attempt to curb the mess, I sat him at the kitchen table when he only wanted a few goldfish. I left the room to get my coffee mug and was side tracked getting other things. I heard clanging and general toddler-noise. When I walked into the kitchen asking “What are you doing?” he screamed out, racing like the wind. I looked around and couldn’t see anything out of the ordinary. But then I spotted some spices on the counter next to the stove. He had definitely shaken some spices onto the counter. When I picked it up, it was wet and sticky. The can of beans was empty (had half a can earlier this morning for breakfast). But where did the other half go to?

He had emptied the can in a pan on the stove, and added a gluttony of spices on top, mixing it with a spoon. I didn’t see it at first, because like a good chef, he also covered it… presumably to simmer.

Cute kid.

Leave a Reply

